Thursday, May 14, 2009

KM 2.0: Social KNowledge Management in Libraries

KM 2.0: Social Knowledge Management in Libraries

“Libraries excel in managing information and knowledge captured in books and documents, but they fail in locating and managing the knowledge potential in the heads of their own people.”

Every library wants to provide the best possible service to its users. But to do so, the organization must make the best use of the knowledge hidden inside the minds of its workers. Sometimes there are issues with the exchange of knowledge between library staff and customers, or between library staff members themselves. The public library in Vlissingen met this challenge head-on by combining the emerging discipline of KM (knowledge management) and social software. Please join Digital Library/Knowledge Manager Karolien Selhorst as she describes this fascinating journey in a live virtual presentation from the Netherlands.

About the presenter: Karolien Selhorst holds two masters degrees and currently works as Digital Library Manager/Knowledge Manager in the public library of Vlissingen (Holland). As an independent consultant, Karolien advises organisations and provides training on knowledge management, change management and Web 2.0 tools. She is chief editor of her own magazine ‘Digitale Bibliotheek’ and a freelance journalist for ‘Intellectueel Kapitaal’, a knowledge management magazine.

When: Thurs. May 21, 2009 from 10:30 AM – 12 noon Mountain time, 12:30 – 2 PM Eastern time, 6:30 – 8 PM Netherlands/CEST.

How to attend: You can attend this virtual program in two different ways:
1. At our bricks and mortar location in downtown Edmonton (Classroom 958, Faculty of Extension, Enterprise Square, 10230 Jasper Ave.) Light refreshments will be served, and no computer setup will be required on the part of participants. The presentation will be viewed in real time on a large classroom projector screen, and attendees will have the opportunity to pose questions. Cost is $15 for CASLIS members, $20 for all others. Doors open on Thurs. May 21 at 10 AM, presentation starts at 10:30.

2. From the convenience of your computer workstation anywhere in the world. You will need a functioning computer sound system to participate. Joining information will be emailed out 24 hours before the presentation. We are using the Elluminate Live system. You can test your computer’s compatibility by doing the “eClass Elluminate Access Check Audio Setup (no password needed)” at the following url:
https://elluminate.srv.ualberta.ca/

Virtual attendees are urged to test their systems well in advance (preferably before registration) to ensure compatibility. Firewalls and computer lock-down schemes may preclude participation. CASLIS will not issue refunds for technical failures of any kind reported less than 24 hours before the event.

Cost is $10 for CASLIS members, $15 for non-members. Registrants from outside Canada should contact Ingrid Dandanell (ingriddandanell@shaw.ca) for special registration and pricing options. Virtual meeting opens on Thurs. May 21 at 10 AM Mountain Time (12 noon Eastern, 18:00 Netherlands/CEST time), presentation starts 30 minutes later.