Friday, January 29, 2010

Alberta Readers' Choice Award Announces Juror Panel

The Alberta Readers' Choice Award committee is pleased to announce its five jurors: the Honourable Tommy Banks, Senator, musician and longtime broadcaster; well-known Alberta author Fil Fraser; Red Deer Mayor, Morris Flewwelling; independent bookseller, Simone Lee; and bookstore owner and literacy advocate, LaurieGreenwood. The five jurors will select the final five titles from the current top ten list, which were voted on byAlberta librarians. The final list of five will then be subject to a public vote, during March and April, to determine the winner. Each of the jurors has been encouraged to choose a title to champion during the public voting phase. The $10,000 cash award is one of the largest literary awards in Canada and will be announced at the Book Publishers Association of Alberta Awards Gala on May 14, 2010 in Edmonton.

The 10 shortlisted titles as selected by Alberta librarians:
  • The Frog Lake Reader by Myrna Kostash, published by NeWest Press
  • Crossing the Swell by Tori Holmes, published by Rocky Mountain Books
  • In Bed with the Word: Reading, Spirituality, and Cultural Politics by Daniel Coleman,published by University of Alberta Press
  • 100 Years of Anne with an "e": The Centennial Study of Anne of Green Gables Edited by Holly Blackford, published by University of Calgary Press
  • The Forgotten Explorer: Samuel Prescott Fay's 1914 Expedition to the Northern Rockiesby Samuel Fay, published by Rocky Mountain Books
  • The Weekender Effect Hyperdevelopment in Mountain Towns by Robert Sandford, published by Rocky Mountain Books
  • Fishing for Bacon by Michael Davie, published by NeWest Press
  • Bomb Canada and Other Unkind Remarks in the American Media by Chantal Allan, published by AU Press
  • Fifth World Drum by Anna Marie Sewell, published by Frontenac House
  • Buying Cigarettes for the Dog by Stuart Ross, published by Freehand Books
The Alberta Readers' Choice Award is presented by the Edmonton Public Library, in partnership with the Book Publishers Association of Alberta.